Compare and contrast theories on grief and loss

Types and causes of mental disorders Classification and epidemiology Psychiatric classification attempts to bring order to the enormous diversity of mental symptoms, syndromes, and illnesses that are encountered in clinical practice.

Compare and contrast theories on grief and loss

Tweet Because of the commonality and universality of grief, it is one of the most studied areas in the field of psychology today. Even though grief is a normal — even healthy —response to loss, it is also terribly painful and confusing.

Grief brings out a wide range of expected emotions, including sadness, anger, numbness, isolation - and eventually acceptance. Individuals also experience physical symptoms related to grief.

Loss of appetite, a change in sleeping patterns, vivid dreams, and disorganized thoughts are all within the range of normal grieving patterns.

How Can We Help You?

Every culture has norms associated with grieving and ways of dealing with—and expectations of—the bereaved. In the past, and still today in many cultures, the bereaved or grieving person was comforted through his or her family or religious system.

But over the past 40 years in the United States, much psychological research and debate has focused on understanding the grieving process to guide those suffering through a loss. The stages are typically defined as: Psychologists, grief therapists, counselors, and laypersons trained in grief counseling all utilize these five stages in their approach to overcoming grief.

The Stages were then expanded to include any form of traumatic personal loss, such as loss of a parent, a home, or a companion. Over the next 30 years, the Stages became more and more popularized and applied to all types of grievers.

They have become ingrained in the training of grief counselors at almost every level. As a person seeking grief counseling, an individual will find that some counselors adhere religiously to the theory of stages, while others use them as a general guide. They are tools to help us frame and identify what we may be feeling.

But they are not stops on some linear timeline in grief. Not everyone goes through all of them or in a prescribed order.

Ignoring or bottling up these reactions can lead to a number of serious physical and mental health issues. Understanding the possible stages and symptoms of grieving is helpful, but it does not take away the pain of the loss.

Actively grieve and mourn.


We grieve alone, but we heal in community. Surround yourself with people who care about you. Take care of yourself.

Guns And States | Slate Star Codex We struggle to understand our thoughts and emotions as we grieve in the hope that we can control the pain we experience.
Kubler-Ross and Other Grief Models | Hospice of San Luis Obispo County Posted on January 6, by Scott Alexander [Epistemic status: Content warning for discussion of suicide, murder, and race] I.

Time helps, but it may not cure. It is normal to have a reaction of denial when hearing about a terrible accident, sudden death or diagnosis of a disease. At first, it seems unbelievable. Shock and numbness are two other emotions commonly used to describe this stage.

Pain, sadness, and guilt can be associated with this stage after the initial shock wears off.

Compare and contrast theories on grief and loss

The most difficult stage to manage, anger comes when the surviving individual realizes denial is no longer an option. People in this stage may lash out at those around them that are trying to provide support. Human nature wants to blame someone or something for the loss.

This stage is more common in a person diagnosed with a terminal illness than with someone who has experienced a death in the family.

Bargaining almost always involves a conversation with a higher power. This fourth stage has the most potential for developing into debilitating grief. In the terminally ill, it is at this stage that the person realizes his or her certain death, and may see the situation as utterly hopeless.Comparison and Contrast on Theory XY and Z Douglas McGregor suggested that there are two different ways in which we can look at workers attitudes toward work.

Each of these views, which McGregor called Theory X and Theory Y, has implications for management. The experience of such a loss, especially within a group of people as dependent of one another as is the family, is often the cause of grief for the bereaved individuals.

The perception of death, nevertheless, seems to differ from culture to culture, as do the rituals encompassing the coping of . Grief Varies with Culture Cross-cultural study looks outward, seeking an opening to the varieties of cultural expression around the world; but it also looks inward, because an understanding of others can enrich our understanding of our own culture.

The work of grief involves learning to live with and adjust to the loss. All these models of grief are similar in that they view grief not as a passive process, but one that is worked through by the bereaved.

The Stages of Grief

Misc thoughts, memories, proto-essays, musings, etc. And on that dread day, the Ineffable One will summon the artificers and makers of graven images, and He will command them to give life to their creations, and failing, they and their creations will be dedicated to the flames.

Grief and bereavement are different for each individual, that is no two people will experience a loss in the same way. A loss is the absence of something we deem meaningful. Over the years there have been many different theories of grief, but it is not a ‘one size fits all’ approach.

mental disorder | Definition, Types, Treatment, & Facts |